Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Basic forms doubt (Forms 9i, Windows XP )
Basic forms doubt [message #432180] Sun, 22 November 2009 14:58 Go to next message
sreejith.s
Hi Everyone,

I'm just starting out with oracle forms now for the first time and have a few doubts. The form that I'm working on is one all we beginners generally start with. Its a master-detail form where, when I select a department in the master part, all employees in that department should be displayed in the details part. But I'm having a few difficulties with the query. I know this is elementary but please help me out.

I have to select the department name from a table called hrp_reference which should be displayed as an LOV. This table has 2 columns called rf_type and rf_name. Here's my query for the LOV.

SELECT ALL rf_name
FROM hrp_reference
WHERE rf_type='department'

Hoping this is accurate.

Now the details part is where I'm finding the real trouble. The employee details block has four columns namely emp name,emp num, position and join date. Emp name and Emp num are taken from one table, whereas position and join date are taken from another table. So I'm not very sure how to go about writing the query for this.

I do know that 'On populate details' is the only main trigger that I'll be requiring and it has already been created. emp_name and emp_num are taken from a table called hrp_people. position and join_date are taken from a table called hrp_assignments. Please let me know on whether I'll have to link these 2 tables.

Please note that this form just displays the data on the screen. It does not enter data into any table. Its more like generating a report you could say. But I want it as a form, as in, when I select the department from the list and execute query the necessary details should be queried.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

P.S: Is it okay to attach the form and the tables here?

Regards,
Sreejith.S