Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » delete and combobox in oracle datagrid? beginner pls help (oracle forms6i patch 17, oracle 10g)
delete and combobox in oracle datagrid? beginner pls help [message #346249] Sun, 07 September 2008 22:47 Go to next message
oeuf85jap@yahoo.co.jp
Hi Embarassed

Im a super beginner in Oracle Forms. I found this forum by searching in google, I hope that someone can help me.

I need to convert an old VBA application to Oracle Forms 6i using Oracle 10g database. I have attached the sample screen shot of the form.

I tried to read the documentations, tutorials, etc but i could not find some of the topics that i need to know.
I hope that someone can help me.

1. I tried to use the data block and layout wizard. it generated the datagrid part(table part) in textboxes, how can i add a checkbox and combobox that is linked to a hidden ID field?

2. in the combobox in the datagrid(table) i need to populate the combobox based on the hidden ID field, What event should i use, or create?

3. After using the wizard it generated the datagrid(table), but when i ran the application it does not automatically populate/get the data, i will need to push the "query button" to see the data. is there a way to pupulate it on form load?

4. In a master-detail form, how can i change the datasource or SQL of the datagrid(table) when the value of the master block changes? example when i change a combobox in the master block, the detail should change depending on the value in master block.

thank you very much
sorry for my poor english.
Re: delete and combobox in oracle datagrid? beginner pls help [message #346284 is a reply to message #346249] Mon, 08 September 2008 01:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
1) I suggest you use a LOV based on a 'record_group' for each item.

2) This 'hidden' information will be part of the 'select' statement in the 'record_group'.